GTM Group Grenada Saint Lucia St. Vincent & the Grenadines

GTM Guyana History

1880 The British Guiana Mutual Fire Insurance Co. Ltd was incorporated by Ordinance No. 31 on Dec 15, 1880 by Messrs. John Seys Hill, B.S. Bayley & the Hon. R.P. Drysdale. The company's first home was located at Mud Lot 19, Water Street, Georgetown.

Dec 16, 1880: John Seys Hill informs the public through the local press that the company was ready to issue insurance policies.

1893 The cornerstone for the Company's new Head Office was laid at Robb & Hincks Streets on land purchased for GY$7,500

1909 The company expanded its operations to Barbados, Grenada, St Kitts & Nevis and Trinidad & Tobago

1925 The British Guiana and Trinidad Mutual Life Insurance Co. Ltd was incorporated
Oct 31, 1925 and the first Life Insurance policy was issued.

1962 The first Local Branch Office opened in Coburg Street, New Amsterdam, Berbice.

1965 The second local Branch Office opened in Arvida Road (now Republic Avenue), Linden.

1966 The Group's name was changed to the Guyana and Trinidad Mutual Fire and Life Group Of Insurance Companies (GTM).

1980 GTM celebrated a milestone with GTM Fire reaching 100yrs of continuous operation.

1991 – 1995 Local expansion continued with Branch Offices opened in Corriverton, Vreed-en-Hoop, Rosignol, Anna Regina and Port Mourant.

1999 Another local Branch Office was opened in Bagotstown, EBD.

2006 The new Customer Service Area at GTM's Head Office was commissioned on Aug 23, 2006.

2010 The new Vreed-en-Hoop office commissioned at cost of $45Million GYD on Apr 12, 2010.

Sept 2011 - Mar 2012 GTM's Head Office undergoes major renovations.


GTM Group | Guyana | Grenada | St. Lucia | St. Vincent

Guyana and Corporate Headquarters
27-29 Robb & Hincks Streets . Georgetown . Guyana

 GTM 2012-08-29
Tel: +592 225 7910-19 . Fax: +592 225 9397